the cricket web site of Rick Eyre,
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Today In Cricket History: 19 April

People born on this day:

1737:  John Small, outstanding Hampshire batsman of the late 18th century
1865:  Dick Pougher, played one Test for England 1892
1873:  Sydney Barnes, probably England's greatest bowler
1885:  Lindsay (Len) Tuckett, pace bowler with one Test for South Africa 1914
1919:  Gil Langley, Australian wicket-keeper 1951-56
1933:  Harold ("Dickie") Bird, noted England Test umpire 1972-96
1939:  Michael Macaulay, Tvl, W.Prov, OFS, NE Tvl, E.Prov and S.Africa
1950:  Jeff Hammond, Australian fast bowler on 1973 WI tour
1953:  Avril Starling, successful bowler in eleven Test for England women 1984-86
1959:  Julie Stockton, Australian womens wicketkeeper 1976-79
1966:  Paul Reiffel, Victorian and Australian pace bowler, later Test umpire
1975:  Jason Gillespie, SA fast bowler, Test double-centurion, Australia 1996-2006
1990:  Scott Borthwick, England Test leg-spinner 2014

People died on this day:

1851:  William Lambert, Surrey all-rounder, infamous match-fixer in 1817
1964:  Cyril Merry, WI batsman in two Tests 1933, 34 runs at 8.50
1996:  Norman Oldfield, scored 99 runs in his only Test for England

Events on this day:

1987:  Brendon Kuruppu scores 201* on Test debut (Sri Lanka v NZ)
1996:  South Africa defeat Pakistan to win the Pepsi Cup in Sharjah
2009:  Canada beats Ireland to win 2009 ICC World Cup Qualifier in South Africa. Both go to WC2011.
2009:  Afghanistan wins first official ODI, by 89 runs over Scotland in fifth-place playoff at 2009 ICC World Cup Qualifiers.


Today In Cricket History was published in book form in 2009.

"Today In Cricket: Events on this day in cricket history"
Today In Cricket History by Rick Eyre is copyright ©1992-2017.
Follow @rickeyrecricket
Bookmark and Share



SOCIAL MEDIA: crichq | facebook | flickr | google+ | instagram | linkedin | quora
reddit | sportlobster | sina weibo | telegram | twitter | youtube

Original material and concepts on this site are copyright ©1994-2017 Rick Eyre